CAEFS & EFRY OTTAWA PRESENT

THE A WORD: RECLAIMING ADVOCACY

Conference Sponsors: University of Ottawa Faculty of Law (Common Law), The Shirley E. Greenberg Chair for Women and the Legal Profession, Carleton University's Department of Law and Legal Studies, Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Department of Psychology, Faculty of Public Affairs, Institute of Criminology and Criminal Justice

CONFERENCE PROGRAM

Friday June 3, 2016

9:00 am - 9:45 am	Introduction and Logistics / Welcome:
	Diana Majury, President of CAEFS Elders, Claudette Commanda and Albert Dumont Sean Casey (speaking on the behalf of Minister Wilson-Raybould, Minister of Justice) The Honourable Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs The Honourable Patricia Hajdu, Minister of Status of Women The Honourable Ralph Goodale, Minister of Public Safety Yasir Naqvi, Ontario Minister for Community Safety and Correctional Services
	Bryonie Baxter, the Executive Director of Elizabeth Fry Society of Ottawa, The Mask Project
9:45 am – 10:45 am	Keynote Address: Why Advocacy Matters? The Honourable Madam Justice Louise Arbour Kim Pate, the Executive Director of CAEFS
10:45 am - 11:00 am	Break
11:00 am – 12:30 pm	Panel Discussion: Holding Government to Account Howard Sapers, Correctional Investigator Kevin Page, Former Parliamentary Budget Officer Mary Campbell, retired Director General Corrections and Criminal Justice at Public Safety Canada

Renu Mandhane, Ontario Human Rights Commissioner Marie-Claude Landry, Chief Commissioner, Canadian Human Rights Commission

12:30 pm Lunch served on site (Wawatay Catering)

1:15 pm – 2:30 pm Breakout Session A- Choose to attend one of the following Panels:







CONFERENCE PROGRAM CONTINUED JUNE 3RD, 2016

A1- Advocacy from Lived Experience

Julie Bilotta, Elizabeth Fry Ottawa Client Christina John Deeana Deal Alleah Pireni (spelling)

A2- Academics as Advocates

Cheryl Webster, Associate Professor at the University of Ottawa Debra Parkes, Associate Dean in the Faculty of Law at the University of Manitoba Janet Mosher, Associate Professor at Osgoode Hall Law School Joanna Birenbaum, Associate Professor at Osgoode Hall Law School

A3- The Role of the Media and Advocacy

Julie Ireton, CBC Reporter Maureen Brosnehan, CBC Investigative Journalist documentary filmmakers (3)

2:30 pm-3:30 pm Breakout Session B- Choose to attend one of the following Panels:

B1- Aboriginal Women- Crisis of Inequality

Kimberley Murray, Special Advisory to Attorney General of Ontario Cherry Smiley, Governor General's Youth Award Winner Dr. Dawn Harvard, Native Women's Association of Canada Amanda Deally (spelling) Deeandra Papaquash

B2- Brain Injuries: Implications for Mental Health, Addictions & Criminalization

Dr. Angela Colantonio, Director of the Rehabilitation Sciences Institute at the University of Toronto Dr. Flora Matheson, Professor at the University of Toronto

B3- Policing Violence Against Women

Leighann Burns, Executive Director of Harmony House Sunny Marriner, Executive Director at Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre Elizabeth Sheehy professor at the University of Ottawa & holder of the Shirley Greenburg Chair

3:40 pm -4:40 pm Where are we going? Looking to the future...

Diana Majury, President of the Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies

Sharon McIvor, Female Alliance for International Action Canada Tracey Lindberg, Professor at the University of Ottawa

4:40 pm -5:00 pm **Closing**

Kim Pate, Executive Director of the Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies

Raging Grannies, Social Justice Activists

Sharon McIvor, Female Alliance for International Action Canada





